Your bargaining team is happy to let you know that the employer has accepted our request to get back to the bargaining table. We’ll be meeting on June 25 & 26.

 We’ll give you an update when those meetings are over. We’ll also let you know when we get the ruling from the Essential Services Tribunal which we expect by the end of the month.


Essential Services Hearings


On Friday, June 7, your representatives finished submitting our evidence at the Essential Services Hearing. This hearing is an important step to make sure we can keep our rights as workers. Over 11 days, both sides submitted evidence through witnesses. A big THANK YOU to all of our members who took the time out of your busy schedules to appear as witnesses and help us put our best case forward. Your knowledge and experience of the workplace was obvious, impressive, and appreciated.

The next step comes on June 14 when both sides present our closing arguments. After that, we’re expecting a decision from the Tribunal to be released by the end of June. In the meantime, we’re calling the employer back to the bargaining table and have requested dates for the last week of June. As a reminder, neither the Employer nor the Union is in a legal position to initiate a lockout or a strike until the Essential Services Tribunal renders its decision.  We’ll update you as soon as we have more news.


The People Who Run The University Need To Hear From You!


Hello everyone,

The sun is shining and the weather is warm but our fight isn’t slowing down.

We need to keep sending the clear message that we are we are willing to fight for fair treatment and to protect the pensions we’ve been paying into and negotiating for years.

Our next great chance is coming up soon and we need your help.

What: University council is meeting

(More info here:

When: Thursday, May 23, 2:30

Where: Room 241 Arts (Neatby-Timlin Theatre)

Why: because the people who run the university need to hear from the people who keep it running.

The University council is meeting this Tuesday.  It’s made up of over 100 representatives including the University president and representatives from all of the colleges, affiliated and federated colleges, and the Library.

Come on out to the meeting. Bring a small (e.g. 8.5×11) sign. Let’s remind the University administration that we’re the people who actually keep this University running.

This won’t be a loud protest but it is a chance to show them that we’re in this together.

They need to negotiate with us in good faith, they can’t expect us to be ok with more wage freezes, and they better keep their paws off our pensions.

We won’t back down.


Caretaker/Building Service Technicians – Nominations

cupe1975Bargaining, Miscellaneous

Click below for Nomination form:

Nomination form for Caretaker Position on Executive

CUPE 1975 has a vacancy on the Executive for a Caretaker/BST representative.  If you would like to serve on the Executive, please print off the attached nomination form.  Follow the instructions laid out in this form and send or deliver to Room 21 McLean Hall.  The deadline to receive nominations is June 3, 2019.  If you need further clarification or wish to know what duties are performed by a representative please call the union office at 966-7015.


Special Membership Meeting – Update on Negotiations

cupe1975Bargaining, Pensions

A special membership meeting will be held for CUPE 1975 members to update you

on the state of Negotiations.   CUPE Pensions expert Mark Janson will be in attendance along with 

our CUPE National Representative and our Negotiating Team.

Date:  Tuesday May 14, 2019

Time:   4:30 pm to 6:30 pm 

Location:  1150 Lecture Theatre Health Sciences Bldg. (Next to Tim Hortons)

If you work a night shift let your supervisor know you are attending. The Union will pay for your time away from work.  You MUST advise the union office by emailing or phoning 966-7015.  We will need the time you attended and your supervisor and department name.

Caretakers who are on night shift: you have been allowed time off from 4:30 to 6:00 pm. to attend the meeting. If you will attend the meeting you must sign the attendance sheet.  If your name does not appear on the sign in sheet you will not be paid for your time away form work.  You must also let your supervisor know that you will be attending.

If you have any questions in regard to this meeting please call the union office at 966-7015.